Donald Trump Golf Handicap a Lie

Is Donald Trump Really a 2.8 Handicap?

Golficity News Leave a Comment

Senator Lindsay Graham’s recent claims that “President Trump shot a 73 in windy and wet conditions” during their Columbus Day round once again has the internet speculating whether or not Trump’s 2.8 handicap is legit.

During the round Graham stated that Trump took “Not one mulligan. Not one.”

Donald Trump plays a round of golf after the opening of The Trump…

Donald Trump plays a round of golf after the opening of The Trump International Golf Links Course on July 10, 2012 in Balmedie, Scotland. The controversial £100m course opens to the public on Sunday… Get premium, high resolution news photos at Getty Images

Granted, there has been plenty of talk lately speculating how much golf Donald has been playing since taking office but still the idea of a 71-year-old amateur golfer firing a 73 on a challenging 6800 yard track has a lot of people scratching their heads.

Needless to say, the internet has been having a field day comparing Trump to the greatest golfer who ever lived.

No, not Jack, Arnie, or Tiger….but Kim Jong-Il of course!

Let us not forget that Kim Jong-Il fired a record 38 under at the 7,700-yard championship course at Pyongyang. That round included 11 holes-in-one and it was THE VERY FIRST ROUND OF GOLF HE EVER PLAYED!

Clearly Trump can’t compete with that monumentous moment in golf history, but his own tales of the tape are quite impressive as well, including:

  • An uncorroborated claim that his amateur course record is a 66 at Mar-a-Lago.
  • An official 2.8 GHIN handicap.
  • His personal claim of winning 19 club championships.

Donald Trump Golf Handicap

So how much of this is true?

Accusations of Cheating

Over the years Trump has played with countless celebrities and a handful have made claims about the accuracy of his scores.

In a 2012 interview Alice Cooper inferred that that Donald was the worst cheater he had ever played with. Additionally, Sports Illustrated writer Rick Reilly remembered his round with Trump where he watched the Donald take “the world’s first gimme chip-in.”

Obviously Trump hasn’t taken kindly to these accusations. He responded to Reilly with Typical Trump fire and fury:

“I absolutely killed him, and he wrote very inaccurately. I would say that he’s a very dishonest writer. … I never took a gimme chip shot. … I don’t do gimme chip shots. If I asked his approval, that’s not cheating, number one. Number two, I never took one.”

Possibly the worst accusations of Trump cheating have come from boxer Oscar De La Hoya who claimed to have witnessed Trump cheating twice on the very first hole they played together.  The story, as reported by Metro USA goes as follows:

“De La Hoya said Trump hit his first ball into the water, a second out of bounds and a third into the water again. His fourth ball then went into the bushes. He walked to the middle of the fairway claiming he had found his first ball.

When asked about the incident De La Hoya said, “Yes, I caught him…It was unbelievable. But I guess it was his course, so it was his rules.”

Regardless, none of these incidents were official tournaments and it can’t be confirmed whether or not Donald entered those scores to be calculated towards his 2.8 handicap.

The Donald’s Swing

Rory McIlory once said that Trump was actually “pretty good” for his age and Tiger Woods was quoting saying that Donald “takes a pretty good lash.”

So is he physically capable of shooting a legitimate 73? We don’t have a lot of video of Donald’s game to really find out but this 2012 video shows him moving the ball pretty well down the fairway.

We’ll let you be the judge on this one.

But keep in mind that if Donnie is lying about his golf game he certainly wouldn’t be the first President to do so. Bill Clinton’s round of 79 has also been widely disputed by the press.


Cover Image via YouTube

Please Login to comment