One mom may have took her fandom too far during an LPGA event this past weekend.
During the LPGA’s Q Series, player Doris Chen hit a drive on the seventh hole at Pinehurst that appeared to come to rest outside of the outer bounds marker. But when Chen went up for her second shot, the ball was back in bounds and she played it without addressing the situation or charging herself with a penalty. By rule, that required that Chen be disqualified from the tournament.
If this isn’t bad enough, there are several reports that are out there that claim that the outside force that moved Chen’s ball back into the playing field was none other than her own mother! According to one of the sources of the report, someone witnessed someone moving the ball back in bounds and described the woman as Chen’s mother who was spectating during the tournament.
Doris Chen hits a shot during the first round of the Kraft Nabisco Championship at Mission Hills Country Club on April 4, 2013 in Rancho Mirage, California. Get premium, high resolution news photos at Getty Images
The report that Mrs. Chen was the culprit that disqualified her own daughter has not been confirmed but Chen delivered a strong denial. “She told me that she didn’t and she doesn’t know,” Chen said. “And if she did, it may be by accident and she wasn’t aware. I was not trying to cheat and I am not a cheater.”
It’s not like Chen would have any reason to cheat anyway because she is quite the accomplished golfer. She won the 2010 U.S. Girl’s Junior Championship and also won the individual NCAA Women’s Championship back in 2014. She has struggled since becoming a professional, however, which may be the reason her mother was looking to help her as much as she could.
While Chen has already been punished, one has to wonder whether more eyes will be kept on her mother during events. Hopefully, this will be the last time Chen has to deal with a situation like this and she’ll be able to turn her career around and reach the potential she has always had.
Cover Image via Instagram
- Could the PGA TOUR Realistically Create a “Winter Major?” - January 17, 2019
- Internet Sensation Ho-Sung Choi is Making his PGA TOUR Debut At Pebble Beach - January 16, 2019
- Ted Potter Jr’s Four-Putt Cost Him a Whopping $68,000 Payday - January 15, 2019
- Jason Dufner Inked a New Sponsorship Deal with DUDE Products - January 13, 2019
- RYDER CUP: Harrington Named 2020 European Team Captain - January 11, 2019
- Steph Curry’s Event Scratched From PGA TOUR Schedule - January 9, 2019
- Ian Poulter Came Up with a Creative Way of Remedying his PGA TOUR Violation - January 8, 2019
- Cody Blick Actually Got His Stolen Clubs Back - January 7, 2019
- PGA TOUR Pro Kyle Thompson is Quitting the Game For A “Real Job” - January 4, 2019
- Thomas Bjorn Lived Up To Promise by Getting a Ryder Cup Tattoo - December 28, 2018